2022 Awardees 

Pharmacist of the Year
Laura Lum, PharmD

Sponsored by: Hawaii Pharmacists Association

Since moving to Hawaii to be closer to family over 7 years ago, Laura Lum has been an active member of the Hawaii Pharmacists Association (HPhA) and an integral member of the Kaiser Permanente Pharmacy leadership team. Laura has dedicated her passions and skillsets to developing and growing the student, intern and resident program at Kaiser Permanente Hawaii. Recently, under Laura’s leadership, Kaiser Permanente (KP) Hawaii successfully reaccredited their PGY-1 residency program for another eight years (the maximum time granted by ASHP). Laura also serves on the HPhA’s Membership Committee helping to increase retention and maximize membership opportunities. To that extent, she continues to be an enthusiastic supporter of HPhA’s student and resident events such as the Student Meet and Greet, Residency Showcase and Residency Presentations where she actively participates and provides a positive learning experience. Laura has also partnered with the physicians in the Kaiser Permanente’s Safety Net group to ensure patients with abnormal EKGs are evaluated and screened to determine whether anticoagulation therapy is appropriate. In addition, she continues to have one of the highest employee satisfaction scores, which is a true testament to her leadership style. Laura is invested and committed to the personal and profession growth of her staff and continues to be a receptive listener when collaborating towards a common goal. 


Outstanding COVID-19 Care Award
Kerri Okamura, RPh

Sponsored by: Hawaii Pharmacists Association

Kerri was instrumental in representing pharmacists from the perspective of the community setting and neighbor islands during the pandemic. She was always available for questions, kept her team and pharmacies up to date with ever-changing information and worked closely with the Hawaii Department of Health on COVID related committees.


Past Awardees

2020 Awardees